Editor's Review

Those who sustained injuries were attended to by Red Cross personnel who were seen evacuating victims.

At least eight people have been injured in a stampede at Kasarani Stadium where President-elect William Ruto is set to be sworn into office.

Hundreds of Kenyans had by 8 am taken their seats at the Stadium awaiting the swearing-in of the President-elect.

Reports indicate that the crowd exceeded the stadium's capacity shortly past 6 am with police unable to control the crowd.

A police officer privy to the situation said that they managed to contain the situation. 

Kasarani stadium filled to the brim. PHOTO | COURTESY

Those who sustained injuries were attended to by Red Cross personnel who were seen evacuating victims from the scene of tragedy.

"In anticipation of being part of history, Kenyans have thronged to the venue in large numbers. By 5.00 am this morning, the venue had already filled to capacity, as more people continued to troop to the venue," police spokesperson Bruno Shioso said in a statement. 

"To avoid logistical challenges, this is to request the public to make alternative arrangements to view the proceedings, especially from the comfort of their homes."

At 8:30am , some Kenyans were still forcing their way into the venue despite it being full to capacity.

Police were forced to disperse some of them who were rowdy.

More than 10,000 police officers had been deployed to bring order at the stadium

Those unable to access the stadium had to be catered for by the big screens outside the stadium,

At least 17 presidents, eight Prime Ministers, and Deputy Presidents, and seven foreign ministers will attend the inauguration of Ruto.

Others include nine special envoys, seven international organisations, and one former president.

All presidents from the East African Community (EAC) are expected to grace the swearing-in ceremony at Kasarani Stadium.

They are Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni, Samia Suluhu Hassan (Tanzania), Paul Kagame (Rwanda), Évariste Ndayishimiye (Burundi), Felix Tshisekedi (DRC Congo), Hassan Sheikh Mohamud (Somalia) and Salva Kiir Mayardit of South Sudan.

Others include Dennis Nguesso (Congo), Ismail Guelleh (Djibouti), Filipe Nyusi (Mozambique), Brahim Ghail (Sahrawi Republic), Emmerson Mnangagwa (Zimbabwe), Azali Assousmani (Comoros) and Lazarus Chakwera of Malawi.

Abiy Ahmed (Ethiopia), Umaro Embalo (Guinea Bissau) and Waveli Ramkalawan (Seychelles) will also attend.