Editor's Review

The gazettement follows their approval by the National Assembly on Wednesday,

President William Ruto has gazetted 22 cabinet secretaries, an attorney general and a secretary to the cabinet he nominated weeks ago.

In a gazette notice released on Wednesday, Ruto appointed Mercy Wanjau as the Secretary to the Cabinet.

"In the exercise of the powers conferred by Article 156 (2) of the Constitution, I, William Samoei Ruto, the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint Justin Muturi as the Attorney General, with the effect from October 27," the notice added. The gazettement follows the approval of the group by the National Assembly Wednesday morning.

The CSs include Aden Duale (Defence), Alfred Mutua (Foreign Affairs), Alice Wahome (Water), Kithure Kindiki (Interior) and Njuguna Ndung’u (Treasury).

Davis Chirchir (Energy), Moses Kuria (Trade), Kipchumba Murkomen (Transport), Soipan Tuya (Environment) and Peninah Malonza (Tourism).

Zacharia Njeru (Housing), Susan Wafula (Health), Mithika Linturi (Agriculture), Eliud Owalo (ICT) and Ezekiel Machogu (Education).

Some of President William Ruto's cabinet secretaries. PHOTO | UGC

Others are Ababu Namwamba (Sports), Rebecca Miano (EAC), Simon Chelugui (Co-operatives), Salim Mvurya (Blue Economy and mining), Aisha Jumwa (Gender) and Florence Chepngetich (Labour).

The law requires the president to nominate Cabinet secretaries and present their names to the National Assembly for vetting by the Parliamentary committee on appointment.

If approved, the names are forwarded to the President again who will appoint them through a gazette notice.

The gazettement now paves way for the swearing of the CSs after which they will take their respective offices and start serving Kenyans.